News

3 good reasons to set up an intelligent TROUBLE SHOOTING system!

By 27 November 2020December 14th, 2020No Comments

Troubleshooting, or troubleshooting, is a troubleshooting process based on the logical and systematic identification and resolution of problems based on identified symptoms. This process is formalized in procedures that identify the root causes of a malfunction by progressively eliminating known causes. Today these procedures are created during the design of the systems concerned. These systems can have lifespans of several decades, and it is understandably complicated to anticipate the root causes of future breakdowns at such long horizons.

Have structured management of procedures

Troubleshooting procedures are nowadays formalized in often cumbersome documentation. The most complex systems are made up of thousands of elements, most of which can be the cause of one or more failure symptoms. Moreover, the appearance of multiple symptoms or their context of appearance can have a different meaning than the appearance of a single symptom. This complexity is difficult to deal with in a “flat” document. The first approach of an intelligent trouble shooting system is therefore to build a repository structured in unitary elements linked together. Thus one can differentiate procedures according to the appearance of a set of symptoms in a given context.

Fig.1: Example of a data structure for managing troubleshooting procedures

Intelligence is about continuing to learn

Troubleshooting operations can be carried out at various locations, at the factory, at the maintenance station or at the place of use. In order to effectively learn these situations, it is essential to centralize all Troubleshooting Experience Returns. The user must be able to share his knowledge, for example by sending a comment to the author of a procedure to report an improvement or a possible error.  The user should also be able to indicate whether the problem has been solved and rate the quality of the procedure he has just followed. This feedback is stored in a central system and can be used to improve troubleshooting guides, but also to improve product design.

Finally, with the knowledge of the previous situations, it is possible to produce probability calculations on the actions of the procedure in order to optimize their order and speed up the resolution of the problem, taking into account all the inputs of the problem such as the time available, the cost of the actions, the tools available…

Fig.2: Example of Troubleshooting Procedure on TEEXMA®

Facilitate autonomous decision making

An intelligent troubleshooting tool must be more agile and visual than heavy documentation, more intuitive than troubleshooting manuals, and must link to other interesting business elements.

It is therefore important to choose a structuring software tool, adaptable to your business in order to offer a contextualized troubleshooting guide that takes into account past incidents. Thus, the user will be able to make the best decision, taking into account various constraints such as the tools available or the number of spare parts in stock.

Once the causes have been identified, the user only has to let himself be guided in the resolution of his problem by clicking on the answers proposed by the system.

With a well-designed procedure, the user benefits from the logic of an expert and can solve the problem himself, thus increasing productivity

The company BASSETTI with its Technical Expertise Management is committed to implement methods, tools and IT processes to structure, archive and disseminate this knowledge with high added value within the company.

Learn more about the TEEXMA®, methodology,
do not hesitate to contact us:

Or ask for a demonstration by our technical teams:

Leave a Reply

Actualité

3 bonnes raisons de mettre en place un système de TROUBLE SHOOTING intelligent !

By 19 novembre 2020 No Comments

Le troubleshooting, ou diagnostic de panne, est un processus de dépannage basé sur l’identification logique et systématique de résolution de problèmes à partir de symptômes identifiés. Ce processus est formalisé dans des procédures qui permettent d’identifier les causes racines d’un dysfonctionnements par élimination progressive des causes connues. Aujourd’hui ces procédures sont créées lors de la conception des systèmes concernés. Ces systèmes peuvent avoir des durées de vie de plusieurs dizaines d’années et on comprend bien qu’il est compliqué d’anticiper les causes racines des futures pannes à de si longs horizons.

Avoir une gestion structurée des procédures

Les procédures de dépannage sont aujourd’hui formalisées dans des documentations souvent lourdes. Les systèmes les plus complexes sont composés de milliers d’éléments qui, pour la plupart peuvent être à l’origine d’un ou plusieurs symptômes de pannes. De plus l’apparition de symptômes multiples ou leur contexte d’apparition peut avoir une signification différente de l’apparition d’un symptôme simple. Cette complexité est difficile à traiter avec un document “à plat”. La première approche d’un système de trouble shooting intelligent est donc de construire un référentiel structuré en éléments unitaires liées entre eux. Ainsi on peut différencier des procédures en fonction de l’apparition d’un ensemble de symptômes dans un contexte donné.

Fig.1 : Exemple de structure de données pour la gestion des procédures de dépannage

L’intelligence, c’est de continuer à apprendre

Les opérations de dépannage peuvent être effectuées sur différents lieux, en usine, en station d’entretien ou sur le lieu de leur utilisation. Afin d’apprendre efficacement ces situations, il est primordial de centraliser l’ensemble des Retours d’Expérience de dépannage. L’utilisateur doit être en mesure de partager ses connaissances, par exemple en envoyant un commentaire à l’auteur d’une procédure pour signaler une amélioration ou une éventuelle erreur.  Il doit également pouvoir indiquer s’il a résolu son problème et noter la qualité de la procédure qu’il vient de suivre. Ces retours sont stockés dans un système central et peuvent être exploités pour améliorer les guides de dépannage, mais aussi améliorer la conception des produits.

Enfin, avec la connaissance des situations précédentes, il est possible de produire des calculs de probabilité sur les actions de la procédure afin d’optimiser leur ordre et accélérer la résolution du problème et ceci en tenant compte de toutes les entrées du problème comme le temps disponible, le coût des actions, les outils à disposition…

Fig.2 : Exemple de procédure Troubleshooting sur l’outil TEEXMA®

Faciliter la prise de décision autonome

 Un outil de troubleshooting intelligent doit être plus agile et visuel qu’une lourde documentation, plus intuitif que des manuels de dépannage et doit renvoyer vers d’autres éléments métier intéressants.

Il est donc important de choisir un outil logiciel structurant, adaptable à vos métiers afin de proposer un guide de dépannage contextualisé et considérant les incidents passés. Ainsi, l’utilisateur sera à même de prendre la meilleure décision, en tenant compte de différentes contraintes telles que les outils à disposition ou le nombre de pièces de rechange en stock.

Une fois les causes identifiées, l’utilisateur n’a plus qu’à se laisser guider dans la résolution de son problème en cliquant sur les réponses proposées par le système.

Avec une procédure bien conçue, l’utilisateur bénéficie de la logique d’un expert et peut résoudre lui-même la panne favorisant un gain de productivité.

La société BASSETTI avec sa Direction de l’Expertise Technique s’engage à mettre en œuvre des méthodes, outils et processus informatiques pour structurer, archiver et diffuser cette connaissance à forte valeur ajoutée au sein de l’entreprise.

Pour en savoir plus sur la méthodologie TEEXMA®,
n’hésitez pas à nous contacter :

Ou demander une démonstration faites par nos équipes techniques :

Leave a Reply